Savory Salsa Con Queso Sauce

Recipe: Savory Salsa Con Queso Sauce

As with all my recipes, these are just homespun, on the fly foods I enjoy eating. And note some of the measurements are not entirely correct because I was just throwing stuff in the pan.

So, my tip: if something looks missing…add more.

I made the Savory Salsa Con Queso Sauce recipe up on March 8th when I was hungry yet very lazy. After my nephew’s birthday party, I still needed to eat to take my insulin. I didn’t want to cook because it’s not smart to do anything complex on five hours sleep between work and nephew time. Plus, he turned two with a party full of kids…and none of them actually mine. Sleep was calling my name.

I poured the salsa con queso sauce on some leftover Irish soda bread (from a box because baking ain’t my area). This time I specifically didn’t use any spices because the dip already had enough. If you’re looking to add more spicy heat, try some fresh pepper or crushed red pepper. I prefer serranos but not always available or affordable. And pouring over some crumbly bread added that extra texture needed to balance the salt from the cheese dip.

I’m sensitive to corn so no more of cornbread and milk for this southern girl. The soda bread is a nice counter and really soaks up the sauce. Excellent alternative for those facing the challenge of a corn-born culinary world. Smothering fries with the sauce would really work, too.

 

SAVORY SALSA CON QUESO SAUCE

 

Savory Salsa Con Queso Sauce
Savory Salsa Con Queso Sauce.

Set the clock
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 8 minutes
Total time: 18 minutes
Serving size: 2 cups (approximately)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup store-bought salsa con queso dip.
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1.5 tbsp butter
  • Dollop of sour cream
  • 2 cups shredded spinach
  • 3/4 cup mix of green onions, garlic, mushroom, tomato

 

Directions

  1. Heat pan on medium, letting 1/2 tbsp butter melt before pouring in 1/2 of the spinach.
  2. After spinach is sauteed, add in the remaining vegetables.
  3. Reduce vegetables down and add last of spinach. Stirring for 2 minutes.
  4. Lower temp. I use 2 on electric stove, about half the prior heat.
  5. Pour in cheese dip, consistently stirring for 3 minutes.
  6. Add in milk and rest of butter. If you want thicker sauce, use less milk.
  7. Pour in dollop of sour cream. No set amount, just season to taste. Stir for about another minute.
  8. Enjoy!

 

See? Simple and easy. Sometimes we all need a little, easy meal. If guessing the size of the meal, take about 2.5 of the ramekin. I ate the rest of lunch the next day, and it was surprisingly tasty next day, too. So adjust accordingly if you want to make a lot more. I’d totally recommend that.

When I make this again, I need to add in a protein. Some fried diced bacon or country ham would add a nice flavor and take away some of the heavy dairy. Pork is a nice combination with spinach for me and one I use pretty often. I just have to be careful to not use too much or the fat destroys the balance…and me.

Published by

Jessica

Owner of Wild Pantheon Press, Clever Girl, and Research Queen Productions. Working on rewriting human interest from global to local.

Leave a Reply

